103rd Maintenance Group troops recognized

  • Published
  • By Capt. Jefferson S. Heiland
  • 103rd Airlift Wing Public Affairs
Members of the Connecticut Air National Guard's 103rd Maintenance Group were recognized for their performance in the group's annual award ceremony on base April 17, 2011.

Many awards were given including the Meritorious Unit Award for exceptionally meritorious conduct from June 1, 2009 to May 31, 2010, awarded to Air Force Central units and personnel assigned to the 379th Air Expeditionary Wing. According to the order, members of the 103rd Maintenance Group demonstrated exceptionally meritorious conduct, outstanding professionalism, and truly superior job performance.

As technical experts in the aircraft maintenance discipline, they were instrumental in improving personnel proficiency, the quality of maintenance, and efficient use of resources. While deployed to the CENTCOM Area of Responsibility in Southwest Asia, members of the 103rd Maintenance Group enabled generation of 275 sorties and 357.4 Flying Hours for an unprecedented 100 percent tasking, 100 percent Maintenance Mission Effectiveness, and a 98.7 percent Fully Mission Capable Rate, the best in the AOR.

"We're here today to recognize the hard work and dedication of several individuals who have proven beyond a shadow of a doubt their commitment to this organization and their willingness to do whatever it takes to ensure the success of this group and the wing," said Lt. Col. Jerry McDonald, 103rd Maintenance Group commander.

McDonald also announced these group's selections: Senior Master Sgt. Harry Hansen as the Senior Non Commissioned Officer of the Year, Tech. Sgt. Stephen M. Pierce as the Non Commissioned Officer of the Year, and Senior Airman Justin L. Lorentzen as Airman of the Year for the group. Of these, Pierce was selected as the Connecticut Air National Guard Non Commissioned Officer of the year and will compete at the national level.